Easiest DIY Beauty Supplies: Update

This past week I tried some of the recipes from Easiest DIY Beauty Supplies Ever, and I wanted to share how it went.

First I had to go to the store and buy supplies. I bought everything for $45.15.

PicsArt_1421526505008

Cream of tartar, food coloring, olive oil, honey x2, cinnamon sticks, coconut oil, sea salt, corn starch, baking soda x 2, coconut milk, vinegar, lemon and oranges (not pictured), and brown sugar.

And here is what I have tried so far

PicsArt_1421937669974

1. Essential Oils

I used the recipe from Simple DIY Recipe for Essential Oils. I tried making it in oven and only cooked it for 3 hours thinking that was what I had read. ( sometimes I mess up with all the kids running around lol) However I reread and seen I should have baked for at least six hours. I also, tried using the handkerchief. It came out smelling weak and oily so I will try this again this weekend. I will let you know how it goes.

2. Hair Shine and Defrizzer

This recipe was not on my first post, but it was so simple. It is just a little bit of coconut oil mixed with water in a spreay bottle. i loved it. NOTE: Only takes one or two squirts for it to work. My hair is almost to my butt so I thought I would need more… I DID NOT!!! After washing and trying again, it was great.

3. Coconut Milk Conditioner

Even though it did not feel like it was working in the shower, once my hair was dry i loved the feel and the smell.

4. Coconut Milk Shampoo

With my hair I need to feel it lathered up. With this I did not. It did not feel like it was cleaned. So I will play around with this recipe and get back with you.

5. DIY Hair Wax

Click here for recipe This worked for me and I liked it, but be careful it can get hot.

6. Better Hand Lotion-

My recipe- coconut oil, olive oil, lotion, and a little corn starch

I tried this and loved how soft it left my hands. I added corn starch because at first it left my hands feeling very oily. The corn starch fixed that, but only a teaspoon.

7. Carpet Powder

Baking soda and essential oil drops. Easy peasy and I loved it

8. Body Scrub

I did not really like this as a body wash. However, I did like it as an in shower mositurizer or to use while shaving.

9.Bath Melts

I loved loved loved

10. Bath Bombs

Again Loved loved loved

After all of these I still have two thirds of everything left, except olive oil and coconut milk:)

I really had fun trying these recipes and will be trying more in the future. As always, I will let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

